2012 Scholarship Winners Announced

Westfield – The Westfield Foundation is pleased to announce this year’s recipients of the Clarence H. and Florence H. VanDellen Memorial Scholarship.   Nicole Cruz and Alex Goldschmidt will each receive $2,500 per year for four years.  This young man and young woman were selected based upon multiple criteria including academic achievement, extracurricular activities, community service, and financial need.

Nicole Cruz

Nicole will be attending the pre-veterinarian program at Delaware Valley College.  She was an active equestrian at the Watchung Stables throughout high school, and was a Junior Instructor, on the Drill Team and a Senior Troop Co-captain a the Stables.   Nicole has worked as a pet care assistant at a local pet hospital for the last three years.  Nicole was an active Girl Scout, and earned both her Bronze and Silver Awards.

Alex Goldschmidt

Alex will attend Tufts University to study physics.  He is an accomplished pianist, and is the past President of the Junior Musical Club of Westfield. He was a member of the WHS varsity tennis team, and is a ranked USTA NJ under-18 player.  He competed on the Science Olympiad team, and was on the distinguished honor roll throughout high school.  He also served as a peer tutor in physics, chemistry, calculus, algebra and Latin.

The Westfield Rotary’s Scholarship Committee also administers several scholarships on behalf of the community-based Westfield Foundation.   Two top scholarships were awarded in memory of Charles and Florence Wallace totaling $15,000 each to be paid over the course of four years. The recipients are Jason Isbit, who will attend the University of St. Andrews in Scotland, and Rory Fitzpatrick who will attend Princeton University.  The recipient of the $2,500 Scholarship in Memory of Chester A. Gerdes, is Sarah Chandler who will attend Colgate University.   Two Wallace $2,500 scholarships are awarded to Kevin Ingram, who is headed for The College of New Jersey, and to Thomas Wolski who will attend Ramapo College.

Over $100,000 was distributed in scholarships to students.  Here is a listing of the 2012 Scholarship winners administered through the Westfield Foundation:

Charles Addams Memorial Art Scholarship – Jessica Fang

Westfield High School – Bogert Scholarships – Timothy Lehmberg and Krysta Huber

Madeleine Wild Bristol Fine Arts Scholarships – Audrey Peterson and Ann Oldakowski

Robert L. and Marilyn P. Bunting Scholarship – Patrick Dyer

Matthew C. Cahill Memorial Scholarship – Richard O’Connor

Class of ’57 and Robert L. and Linda J. Foose Memorial Award – Jan Fine

Class of ’57 Distinguished Teacher Award – Ellen Muir

J. Isabella Dodds Scholarship – Jacob Vergara

Edmund K. Faltermayer Scholarship – Abigail Goldring

Charles H. Frankenbach Memorial Scholarship – Richard O’Connor

Tomas Garcia Memorial Scholarships – Shanna Kelly and Johnny Link

David M. Hart Science Scholarship – William Geoghegan

Waldron W. Holck Memorial Scholarship – Donat Maliqi

Nelson A. Keller Memorial Scholarships – Alex Frisch and Catherine King

Edith MacCormack Memorial Scholarship – Harsh Shaw

Jean M. McDermott Fine Arts Scholarships – Brandon Vassallo and Mary Barber

Helen Bell and John S. McMartin Memorial Scholarships – Nicole Embrett and Nicholas Knepper

Lisa K. Monteleone Scholarship – Tara Bange

Vida Evans Nogi Memorial Scholarship – Megan Bordonaro

Douglas J. Odenkirk Memorial Scholarship – Alexander Caggiano

Mandeville Rentrop Memorial Scholarships – Sydney Metzger and Christopher Walsh

Drude Sparre Roessler Music Scholarships – Duncan Cook and Caitlin Haviland

Joseph E. Rood Memorial Scholarship – Katherine Nemeth

Rachel Mather Sullivan – Emily Miller

Noel A. and Thelma C. Taylor Memorial Scholarship – Jason Qin

Liesja Tortorello Memorial Scholarship – Joy Binder

Gail W. Trimble Memorial Scholarships – Tyler Varian and Bernadette Hopen

Ruth V. Vincent Fine Arts Scholarships – Erica Lawrence and Juliet Duguid

W. Earl and Helen W. Wyman Scholarship – Matias Werner

Westfield Foundation Matching McCoy Scholarship – Rebecca Tunis

Descriptions of these scholarships can be found on the Westfield Foundation web page, under the ‘Student Scholarship’ tab.